United States Fourteenth Amendment & The Civil Rights Act of 1866

An amendment to the Constitution of the United States that granted citizenship and equal rights, both civil and legal, to African Americans and slaves who had been emancipated by the thirteenth amendment.

The House of Representatives

The House of Representatives of the Thirty-Ninth Session of Congress

To see the full record of a committee, click on the corresponding committee on the map below.

Session 5616: 1866-06-13 12:00:00

Mr. Stevens gives notice of a substitue for H. R. 623; the House considers H. Res. 127

Membership (at session start):

John B. Alley, William B. Allison, Oakes Ames, Sydenham E. Ancona, George W. Anderson, Delos R. Ashley, James M. Ashley, Jehu Baker, John D. Baldwin, Nathaniel P. Banks, Abraham A. Barker, Portus Baxter, Fernando C. Beaman, John F. Benjamin, Teunis G. Bergen, John Bidwell, John A. Bingham, James G. Blaine, Henry T. Blow, George S. Boutwell, Benjamin M. Boyer, Augustus Brandegee, Henry P. H. Bromwell, John M. Broomall, Ralph P. Buckland, Hezekiah S. Bundy, John W. Chanler, Reader W. Clarke, Sidney Clarke, Amasa Cobb, Alexander H. Coffroth, Schuyler Colfax, Roscoe Conkling, Burton C. Cook, Shelby M. Cullom, Charles V. Culver, William A. Darling, Thomas T. Davis, Henry L. Dawes, John L. Dawson, Joseph H. Defrees, Columbus Delano, Henry C. Deming, Charles Denison, Nathan F. Dixon, William E. Dodge, Ignatius L. Donnelly, John F. Driggs, Ebenezer Dumont, Ephraim R. Eckley, Benjamin Eggleston, Charles A. Eldredge, Thomas D. Eliot, John F. Farnsworth, John H. Farquhar, Thomas W. Ferry, William E. Finck, James A. Garfield, Adam J. Glossbrenner, Charles Goodyear, Henry Grider, Josiah B. Grinnell, John Augustus Griswold, Robert S. Hale, Aaron Harding, Abner C. Harding, Benjamin G. Harris, Roswell Hart, Rutherford B. Hayes, James H. D. Henderson, William Higby, Ralph Hill, John Hogan, Sidney T. Holmes, Samuel Hooper, Giles W. Hotchkiss, Asahel W. Hubbard, Chester D. Hubbard, John H. Hubbard, Demas Hubbard Jr., Edwin N. Hubbell, James R. Hubbell, Calvin T. Hulburd, James Humphrey, James M. Humphrey, Ebon C. Ingersoll, Thomas Jenckes, Philip Johnson, Morgan Jones, George W. Julian, John A. Kasson, William D. Kelley, John R. Kelso, Michael C. Kerr, John H. Ketcham, Andrew J. Kuykendall, Addison H. Laflin, George R. Latham, George V. Lawrence, William Lawrence, Francis C. Le Blond, Benjamin F. Loan, John W. Longyear, John Lynch, Samuel S. Marshall, Gilman Marston, James M. Marvin, Joseph W. McClurg, Hiram McCullough, Walter D. McIndoe, Samuel McKee, Donald C. McRuer, Ulysses Mercur, George F. Miller, James K. Moorhead, Justin S. Morrill, Daniel Morris, Samuel W. Moulton, Leonard Myers, William A. Newell, William E. Niblack, John A. Nicholson, Thomas E. Noell, Charles O'Neill, Godlove S. Orth, Halbert E. Paine, James W. Patterson, Sidney Perham, Charles E. Phelps, Frederick A. Pike, Tobias A. Plants, Theodore M. Pomeroy, Hiram Price, William Radford, Samuel J. Randall, William H. Randall, Henry J. Raymond, Alexander H. Rice, John H. Rice, Burwell C. Ritter, Andrew J. Rogers, Edward H. Rollins, Lewis W. Ross, Lovell H. Rousseau, Philetus Sawyer, Robert C. Schenck, Glenni W. Scofield, George S. Shanklin, Samuel Shellabarger, Charles Sitgreaves, Ithamar C. Sloan, Green C. Smith, Rufus P. Spalding, John F. Starr, Thaddeus Stevens, Thomas N. Stilwell, Myer Strouse, Stephen Taber, Nelson Taylor, M. Russell Thayer, Francis Thomas, John L. Thomas, Jr., Anthony Thornton, Lawrence S. Trimble, Rowland E. Trowbridge, Charles Upson, Henry H. Van Aernam, Burt Van Horn, Robert T. Van Horn, Hamilton Ward Sr., Samuel L. Warner, Henry D. Washburn, William B. Washburn, Elihu B. Washburne, Martin Welker, John Wentworth, Kellian Whaley, Thomas Williams, James F. Wilson, Stephen F. Wilson, William Windom, Charles H. Winfield, Frederick E. Woodbridge, Edwin R. V. Wright (184 total)

Representing 25 delegations:

California Delegation, Connecticut Delegation, Delaware Delegation, Illinois Delegation, Indiana Delegation, Iowa Delegation, Kansas Delegation, Kentucky Delegation, Maine Delegation, Maryland Delegation, Massachusetts Delegation, Michigan Delegation, Minnesota Delegation, Missouri Delegation, Nevada Delegation, New Hampshire Delegation, New Jersey Delegation, New York Delegation, Ohio Delegation, Oregon Delegation, Pennsylvania Delegation, Rhode Island Delegation, Vermont Delegation, West Virginia Delegation, Wisconsin Delegation

Imported Documents

Imported Amendments

Exported Documents

  • Message to the Senate on Concurrence in H. Res. 127 Amendments (e901220)
  • H. Res. 127 (e901201)

Exported Amendments

Resources (0):

Resource Collections (0):


Resource Items (0):


Summary of events in this session:


0 0 0 0

List of people joining the committee

List of people leaving the committee

List of people elected to a position


0 0 0

List of proposals created

List of proposals amended

List of proposals copied

List of proposals imported

List of proposals to be voted on

List of proposals debated


List of proposals adopted

List of proposals rejected

List of proposals dropped

List of proposals referred

List of postpone debate voted on

List of other proposals voted on


List of procedural motion

List of motions debated

Events (38)





Icon key

Person joining a committee

Person leaving a committee

Person elected to a position

A new document introduced

An amendment proposed

A document introduced from another committee

A revision of another document begun

Amendment imported from another committee

Proposal Debated

Drop a proposal

Refer a proposal

Adopt a proposal

Other vote (continue debate)

Reject a proposal

Postpone debate on a proposal

Procedural motion introduced

Procedural Motion Debated

Procedural motion with sub-decisions