Utah Territory Delegation


Members (2):

Name Visualize Details Delegations
John M. Bernhisel Visualize (July 23, 1799 — September 28, 1881) John Milton Bernhisel, a Delegate from the Territory of Utah; born at Sandy Hill, Tyrone Township, near Harrisburg, Cumberland County, Pa., July 23, 1799; attended the common schools; was graduated from the medical department of the University of Pennsylvania at Philadelphia; commenced the practice of medicine in New York City; moved to Nauvoo, Hancock County, Ill., in 1843, and thence to the Territory of Utah; settled in Salt Lake City in 1848 and continued the practice of medicine; elected to the Thirty-second and to the three succeeding Congresses (March 4, 1851-March 3, 1859); was not a candidate for renomination in 1858; resumed the practice of medicine; elected to the Thirty-seventh Congress (March 4, 1861-March 3, 1863); was not a candidate for renomination in 1862; resumed the practice of his profession; served as regent of the University of Utah; died in Salt Lake City September 28, 1881; interment in Salt Lake City Cemetery. [Source: “Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1774 - Present,” available at https://bioguide.congress.gov/search/bio/B000412] Utah Territory Delegation (This negotiation)
William H. Hooper Visualize "(December 25, 1813 -- December 30, 1882) William Henry Hooper was a(n) merchant, secretary, public servant, superintendent of a cooperative mercantile institution, president of a national bank, and an American politician. Hooper was born in Cambridge, Dorchester County, Maryland and moved to Salt Lake City, Utah in 1850. Hooper was secretary of the Territory (1857 and 1858), member of the State senate (1862), superintendent (1873-1877) and president (1877 - 1882) of Cooperative Mercantile Institution, and president of the Deseret National Bank, Salt Lake City from 1872 to his death in 1882. William was elected as a Democrat to the 36th, 39th, 40th, 41st, and 42nd Congresses (March 4, 1859 - March 3, 1861 and March 4, 1865 - March 3, 1873), was not reelected in 1872 or in 1860. [Source: 'Biographical Directory of the United States Congress 1774 - Present', available at https://bioguideretro.congress.gov/Home/MemberDetails?memIndex=H000767]" Utah Territory Delegation (United States Fifteenth Amendment) , Utah Territory Delegation (This negotiation) , Territory of Utah (United States Fourteenth Amendment & The Civil Rights Act of 1866) , Utah Territory Delegation (The Civil Rights Act of 1875)