F765 .3 W76

> m/f 4/22/86

JOURNAL

OF THE

CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION,

STATE OF WYOMING.

FIRST DAY.

HALL OF CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION, CAPITOL BUILDING, Cheyenne, Wyo., Monday, Sept. 2, 1889.

The delegates elected to the convention to form a constitution for the proposed State of Wyoming met at the Supreme Court room in the Capitol building at Cheyenne, Laramie County, Wyoming, at 12 o'clock noon, and was called to order by Hon. A. B. Conaway, of Sweetwater County.

Mr. Morgan of Laramie County moved that a committee on temporary organization be appointed, to consist of one member from each county.

The motion was carried.

The chairman appointed as said committee:

M. N. Grant of Albany Caunty,

G. C. Smith of Carbon County,

W. C. Irvine of Converse County,

R. H. Scott of Crook County,

D. O. Preston of Fremont County,

C. H. Burritt of Johnson County,

H. E. Teschemacher of Laramie County,

H. A. Coffeen of Sheridan County, Frank M. Foote of Uinta County,

E. J. Morris of Sweetwater County.

On motion, a recess of 30 minutes was taken.

After recess the committee on temporary organization presented the following report:

HALL OF CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION, CAPITOL BUILDING, Cheyenne, Wyo., Sept. 2, 1889,

Your committee on temporary organization have had the matters referred to them under consideration, and respectfully report as follows:

For temporary president, H. S. Elliott of Johnson County. For temporary secretary, J. K. Jeffrey of Laramie County.

We also request that Robt. C. Morris report the proceedings of the temporary organization.

M. N. GRANT, Chairman.

D. O. PRESTON, Secretary.

On motion the report of the committee on temporary organization was adopted. Mr. H. S. Elliott of Johnson County then assumed the chair, as temporary chairman, John K. Jeffrey acting as temporary secretary.

It was moved by Mr. Reed of Laramie County that a committee on credentials be appointed to consist of one member

from each county.

The motion was carried. The chair appointed as such committee:

Geo. W. Fox of Albany, George Ferris of Carbon,

M. C. Barrow of Converse,

Meyer Frank of Crook,

H. G. Nickerson of Fremont,

John M. McCandlish of Johnson,

Henry G. Hay of Laramie, H. A. Coffeen of Sheridan,

H. F. Minough of Sweetwater,

C. W. Holden of Uinta.

Moved by Mr. Grant of Albany that a recess of thirty minutes be taken.

The motion was carried.

At the expiration of the recess, the convention was called to order. President pro tem was in the chair.

The committee on credentials presented the following re-

port:

Gentlemen of the Convention:

We, your committee on credentials find the following per-

sons present, and entitled to seats in this convention:

Albany County; S. W. Downey, Mortimer N. Grant, Melville C. Brown, Wm. E. Chaplin, Geo. W. Fox, John W. Heyt, A. L. Sutherland, Jno. McGill.

Carbon County: Geo. Ferris, Geo. C. Smith, Chas. L. Vag-

ner, J. A. Casebeer, R. C. Butler, C. W. Burdick.

Crook County: Richard H. Scott, Meyer Frank, Thos. H. Moore, Jos. L. Stotts.

Converse County: W. C. Irvine, M. C. Barrow, DeForest

Richards.

Fremont County: D. A. Preston, H.G. Nickerson.

Johnson County: H. S. Elliott, Chas. H. Burritt, Jno. M. McCandlish.

Laramie County: Henry G. Hay, E. S. N. Morgan, Chas. N. Potter, Jno. A. Riner, Anthony C. Campbell, Geo. W. Baxter, Jas. A. Johnston, Caleb P. Organ, Jno. K. Jeffrey, Thos. R. Reed, H. E. Teschemacher.

Sheridan County: H. A. Coffeen, C. Boulware, Wm. N. Robinson.

Uinta County: Clarence D.Clark, Frank M. Foote, Jesse Knight, Chas. W. Holden, Jonathan Jones, Jno. L. Russell.

Sweetwater County: A. B. Conaway, Edward J. Morris, H. E. Menough.

GEO. W. FOX, Chairman.

M. C. BARROW, Secretary.

On motion the report of the committee on credentials was received and adopted, and the committee continued.

Mr. Teschemacher of Laramie moved that the members proceed to select seats.

The motion was carried, and lots were drawn by counties

for seating the members.

On motion of Mr. Downey of Albany the roll is now called

On motion of Mr. Downey of Albany the roll is now called and the following members answered to their names:

Albany County: Stephen W. Downey, M. N. Grant, Melville C. Brown, Wm. E. Champlin, Geo. W. Fox, John W. Hoyt, A. L. Sutherland, John McGill.

Carbon County: Geo. Ferris, Geo. C. Smith, Chas. L. Vagner, J. A. Casebeer, R. C. Butler, C. W. Burdick.

Crook County: Richard H. Scott, Meyer Frank. Converse County: W. C. Irvine, M. C. Barrow.

Fremont County: D. A. Preston, H. G. Nickerson.

Johnson County: H. S. Elliott, Chas. H. Burritt John M. McCandlish.

Laramie County: Henry G. Hay, E. S. N. Morgan, Charles N. Potter, John A. Riner, Geo. W. Baxter, James A. Johnston, Caleb P. Organ, John K. Jeffrey, Thomas R. Reed, H. E. Teschemacher.

Sheridan County: H. A. Coffeen.

Sweetwater County: A. B. Conaway, Edward J. Morris, H. E. Menough.

Uinta County: Clarence D. Clark, Frank M. Foote, Jesse Knight, Chas. W. Holden, Johnathan Jones, John L. Russell.

Mr. Fox of Albany presented the following resolution:

Resolved, that the oath to be administered to members of this convention shall be as follows:

You and each of you do solemnly swear, that you will support the constitution of the United States, and that you will honestly and faithfully discharge your duties as members of this convention, called for the purpose of framing a constitution for the proposed State of Wyoming. So help me God.

The resolution was adopted.

It was moved that Justice of the Peace W. P. Carroll, of Cheyenne, be requested to administer the oath of office to the members of this convention.

The motion was carried.

The oath of office was then administered to the following members elect:

Downey, Grant, Brown, Chaplin, Fox, Hoyt, Sutherland, McGill, Ferris, Smith, Vagner, Casebeer, Butler, Burdick, Scott, Frank, Irvine, Barrow, Preston, Nickerson, Elliott, Burritt, McCandlish, Hay, Morgan, Potter, Riner, Baxter, Johnston, Organ, Jeffrey, Reed, Teschemacher, Coffeen, Conaway, Morris, Menough, Clark, Foote, Knight, Holden, Jones, Russell.

It was moved by Hoyt of Albany that a committee to consist of one delegate from each county (to be named by delegation) be appointed to suggest what offices will be necessary

and should be created by the permanent organization.

An amendment was offered by Hay of Laramie that the committee be further instructed to suggest ways and means for the payment of salaries of officers and other expenses.

A substitute was offered by Mr. Fox that this convention do now proceed to the election of a permanent president of

this convention.

Before a vote was reached Mr. Irvine of Converse moved that the convention adjourn until to-morrow (Tuesday) at 10 o'clock a. m.

Duly seconded and carried.

M. C. BROWN, Pres. Con. H. S. ELLIOTT, Pres. pro tem.

Attest: JOHN K. JEFFREY, Secretary pro tem.

SECOND DAY.

Hall of the Constitutional Convention, Capitol Building, Cheyenne, Wyo., Sept. 3, 1889.

The convention was called to order at 10 o'clock A. M. The temporary president in the chair. Roll call, 41 mem-

bers present.

The committee on credentials reported the presence of Mr. Louis J. Palmer, a duly elected member of this convention, from the county of Sweetwater.

Mr. Palmer took the oath of office administered by Justice

of Peace W. P. Carroll.

The journal of the previous session was read and approved. The resolution offered by Mr. Fox, to proceed to the elec-