## Journal of the Convention.

## FIRST DAY.

TERRITORY OF DAKOTA,
HALL OF THE CONSTITUTIONAL CONVENTION
OF SOUTH DAKOTA,
SIOUX FALLS, July 4, 1889.

At the hour of 12 o'clock, meridian, on this 4th day of July, 1889, the day and hour appointed by law, the members elect of the constitutional convention of South Dakota assembled in Germania hall at Sioux Falls, and were called to order by Hon. Dighton Corson of Lawrence, one of their number.

Prayer was offered by Rev. L. N. Stratton of Sioux Falls.

The proclamation of the Governor, proclaiming the election of delegates to this convention, was read by E. W. Caldwell, a delegate from Minnehaha county, and was accepted as evidence of said election.

The roll as contained in said proclamation, after being corrected, was called as follows:

From the

First District......Sanford Parker of Fall River.

Valentine T. McGillicuddy of Pen-

nington.

Chauncey L. Wood of Pennington.

Second District..... Dighton Corson of Lawrence.

William S. O'Brien of Lawrence.

Charles M. Thomas of Lawrence.

Third District......S. A. Wheeler of Butte.

Thomas W. Thompson of Lawrence.

John Scollard of Lawrence.

Fourth District	William McCusick of Roberts. Henry Neill of Grant.
Fifth District	C. R. Wescott of Deuel.  . William Cook of Marshall.  W. G. Dickinson of Day.  George H. Culver of Day.
Sixth District	Martin R. Henninger of Brown. Lyman T. Boucher of McPherson. Harry T. Craig of Campbell.
Seventh District	S. F. Brott of Brown. William Stoddard of Brown. M. P. Stroupe of Brown.
Eighth District	J. G. Davies of Edmunds. Peter Couchman of Walworth.
Ninth District	J. F. Wood of Spink.  Thomas Sterling of Spink.  T. W. P. Lee of Spink.
Tenth District	David Hall of Sully. Chas. H. Price of Hyde.
Eleventh District	S. F. Huntley of Hand. R. C. Anderson of Buffalo.
Twelfth District	J. V. Willis of Aurora. H. F. Fellows of Aurora.
Thirteenth District	C. H. Van Tassel of Sanborn. L. H. Hole of Beadle. George C. Cooper, of Beadle.
Fourteenth District	W. H. Matson of Kingsbury. S. D. Jeffries of Clark.
Fifteenth District	<ul><li>E. E. Clough of Codington.</li><li>S. S. Peck of Hamlin.</li><li>S. B. VanBuskirk of Codington.</li></ul>
Sixteenth District	<ul><li>I. Atkinson of Brookings.</li><li>I. R. Spooner of Kingsbury.</li><li>Joshua Downing of Brookings.</li></ul>
Seventeenth District	F. G. Young of Lake. R. F. Lyons of Lake.

Eighteenth District Andrew J. Berdahl of Minnehaha. H. M. Williamson of Moody.
C. S. Gifford of Minnehaha.
Ninteenth District William VanEps of Minnnehaha.  Clark G. Coats of Minnehaha.  E. W. Caldwell of Minnehaha.
Twentieth District
Twenty-first DistrictJohn L. Jolley of Clay.  A. O. Ringsrud of Union.  J. Kimball of Union.
Twenty-second DistrictEdward G. Edgerton of Yankton. Christian Buechler of Hutchinson. C. J. B. Harris of Yankton.
Twenty-third DistrictWilliam T. Williams of Bon Homme.  Robert A. Smith of Charles Mix.  Joseph Zitka of Bon Homme.
Joseph Zieka of Bon Homme:
Twenty-fourth District A. J. Edgerton of Davison.  Charles A. Houlton of Douglas.  S. A. Ramsey of Sanborn.
Twenty-fourth District A. J. Edgerton of Davison.  Charles A. Houlton of Douglas.

All of said delegates elect responded to the call except Charles M. Thomas, J. G. Davies, R. C. Anderson, E. E. Clough and Clark G. Coats.

The oath of office was then taken and subscribed by the members elect there present, administered by the Hon. Bartlett Tripp, Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of the Territory of Dakota.

Mr. Spooner of Kingsbury nominated for president, A. J. Edgerton of Davison.

Mr. Price of Hyde nominated S. B. VanBuskirk of Codington.

On motion

The convention proceeded to the election of a president.

Messrs. McGillicuddy and Caldwell being designated as tellers,

The calling of the roll was commenced, but before completion, was dispensed with by consent, Mr. VanBuskirk having withdrawn his name, and the election of A. J. Edgerton was

made by acclamation, unanimously, and he was declared the duly elected president of the convention.

Messrs. Spooner and VanBuskirk were appointed to escort the president-elect to the chair.

On motion of Mr. Wescott of Deuel

E. W. Caldwell of Minnehaha was by acclamation elected temporary clerk.

On motion of Mr. Jolley of Clay

A committee of five on rules and order of business was appointed by the chair as follows:

Messrs. Jolley of Clay, Wood of Pennington, Clough of

Codington, Humphrey of Faulk and Young of Lake.

Mr. Kellam moved

That the president of the convention be requested to communicate by telegraph the greetings and congratulations of the constitutional convention of South Dakota, to the constitutional conventions of North Dakota, Montana and Washington.

Mr. Van Tassel moved

That the president appoint a committee of three to confer with the convention of North Dakota as to the size of the joint committee to be selected by the two conventions as provided by law.

Mr. Wescott moved

That the matter be referred to the committee on rules,

Which motion prevailed,

There being sixty-one votes cast,

Of which thirty-six were in the affirmative and twenty-five in the negative.

Mr. Caldwell moved

That the rules of the constitutional convention of 1885 shall govern the proceedings of this body, so far as they may be applicable, until the adoption of the report of the committee on rules,

Which motion prevailed.

Mr. Neill moved

That the convention do now adjourn until Friday, July 5, at 2 P. M.,

Which motion prevailed.

E. W. CALDWELL, Clerk.