Mr. Scott moved that a committee of three on credentials be appointed by the chair. Carried.

The president appointed as that committee Messrs. Rowe, Miller and Meacham.

Mr. Stevens moved that a committee of ten on rules for perma-

nent organization be appointed. Carried.

Messrs. Stevens, Colton, Scott, Bennett, Turner, Camp, Slotten, Allen, Clark and Appleton were appointed as that committee. Carried.

Mr. Williams moved that the convention adjourn until 10 o'clock a. m., to-morrow.

The motion was agreed to, and the convention adjourned.

JOHN A. REA, Secretary pro tem.

FRIDAY, JULY 5, 1889—10 O'Clock A. M.

The convention met at 10 o'clock a.m., the president pro tem. in the chair.

Prayer by the Rev. Mr. Kline.

Mr. Spaulding moved that editors and newspaper reporters be admitted within the bar of the house.

Which motion prevailed.

Mr. Harris moved that the privileges of the floor be extended to Ex-Govs. Pierce and Ordway.

After an amendment so as to include all ex-federal and territorial officials, the motion was agreed to.

Telegrams of congratulation from the presidents of the Washington and South Dakota constitutional conventions were read.

Mr. Rowe, from the committee on credentials, reported as follows:

We, the committee on credentials, find the following-named persons entitled to seats in the constitutional convention now assembled, as shown by the records in the territorial secretary's

First District—H. L. Holmes, R. B. Richardson, W. B. Best. Second District—Joseph Powles, John McBride, A. F. Apple-

Third District—C. P. Parsons, P. McHugh, R. B. Glick. Fourth District -- V. B. Noble, J. L. Colton, Ezra Turner.

Fifth District-E. A. Williams, Harvey Harris, John E. Car-

Sixth District -A. W. Hoyt, A. S. Parsons, Wm. Ray. Seventh District--J. B Gayton, G. H. Fay, C. V. Brown.

Eighth District-W. H. Rowe, A. D. Flemington, L. D. Bartlett.

Ninth District-S. H. Moer, R. N. Stevens, Andrew Sandager.

Tenth District—John Shuman, J. D. McKenzie, John Powers, Eleventh District—W. S. Lauder, Andrew Slotten, W. E. Purcell.

Twelfth District—H. F. Miller, B. F. Spalding, J. Lowell.

Thirteenth District--Addison Leach, R. M. Pollock, H. M. Peterson.

Fourteenth District—E. W. Chaffee, Wm. J. Clapp, Enos Gray. Fifteenth District—Elmer Elliott, J. W. Scott, J. Wellwood.

Sixteenth District—E. W. Camp, F. B. Fancher, Andrew Blewett.

Seventeenth District-E. S. Rolfe, H. M. Clark, O. G. Meacham.

Eighteenth District—David Bartlett, E. D. Wallace, E. M. Paulson.

Nineteenth District—J. F. Selby, M. F. Hegge, Knud J. Nomland.

Twentieth District-Wm. Budge, Richard Bennett, Alexander Griggs.

Twenty-first District—A. P. Haugen, J. H. Mathews, Chas.

Carothers.

Twenty-second District—M. N. Johnson, M. V. Linwell, T. W. Bean.

Twenty-third District—A. O. Whipple, Edward Lohnes, J. F. O'Brien.

Twenty-fourth District—A. D. Robertson, M. K. Marrinan, James Bell.

Twenty-fifth District—Roger Allin, John Almen, James Douglas.

W. H. Rowe, Chairman. O. G. MEACHAM.

H. F. MILLER.

Mr. McHugh moved that the report of the committee be adopted.

Motion agreed to.

Mr. Williams moved that the convention proceed to the election of a president. Carried.

Mr. Camp placed in nomination F. B. Fancher, of Stutsman

Mr. Purcell placed in nomination John E. Carland, of Burleigh.
Mr. Carland moved that the oath of office be administered to
the members by the Hon. Roderick Rose, associate justice of the
supreme court. Agreed to.

The oath of office was then administered to all the members.

The roll being called, the following was the vote of the convention for president:

Those voting for Mr. Fancher were

Messrs. Allin, Almen, Bartlett of Dickey, Bartlett of Griggs, Bean, Bennett, Brown, Budge, Camp, Carland, Carothers, Chaffee,

Clap, Clark, Colton, Elliott, Flemington, Gayton, Harris, Haugen, Holmes, Hoyt, Johnson, Lauder, Leach, Linwell, Mathews, Mc-Hugh, McKenzie, Meacham, Miller, Moer, Nomland, Parsons of Morton, Parsons of Rolette, Paulson, Peterson, Powles, Pollock, Richardson, Robertson, Rolfe, Rowe, Sandager, Scott, Selby, Shuman, Slotten, Spaulding, Stevens, Turner, Wallace, Wellwood, Williams—54.

Those voting for Mr. Carland were

Messrs. Appleton, Bell, Best, Blewett, Douglas, Fancher, Glick, Gray, Griggs, Lowell, Marrinan, McBride, Noble, O'Brien, Powers, Purcell-16.

Absent and not voting:

Messrs. Fay, Lohnes, Hegge and Whipple-5.

Mr. Carland moved that the election of Mr. Fancher be de-

clared unanimous. Carried.

The chair appointed Messrs. Carland and Camp a committee of two to escort Mr. Fancher to the chair, and the duty assigned them was duly performed.

Mr. Fancher returned his thanks to the convention for the

honor conferred upon him speaking as follows:

GENTLEMEN: As a presiding officer I cannot promise very much. I am not very well versed in parliamentary law, but I think I will venture to do my best to please you, to endeavor to carry out your wishes and to assist you in embodying in the constitution for North Dakota the sound judgment and levelheadedness of the whole people of North Dakota, and not to foster the interests of any man or particular class of men. If, after some experience, I shall succeed in meeting your approval, the end attained will have justified you in your action to-day. If I shall be so unfortunate as to fail, I do most solemnly assure you it shall not have been my fault, but my misfortune, for I will make every effort to succeed.

Mr. Williams moved that a committee of seven be appointed on rules.

The motion was agreed to.

As that committee the president appointed Williams of Burleigh, Parsons of Morton, Turner of Bottineau, Carland of Burleigh, Allin of Walsh, Stevens of Ransom and Johnson of Nelson.

The convention took an informal recess, during which the draw-

ing for seats took place.

Mr. Scott moved that the secretary be instructed to procure five hundred copies of the enabling act for the use of the delegates.

Motion agreed to. Mr. Stevens moved that the convention adjourn until 2 o'clock

p. m. to-morrow. Carried. JOHN A. REA,

Secretary pro tem.