

Telephone : 0171 219 6800 Telex : 8813033 Fax : 0171 222 2770 British-Irish Inter-Parliamentary Body Inter-Parliamentary Union Palace of Westminster London SW1A 0AA

ALD2/2/2/11/17

24 November 1997

From Peter Temple-Morris MF, Co-Chairman David Winnick MP, Co-Chairman Designate

To All Associate Members of the Body

As mentioned at the British Group meeting the Steering Committee decided in Dublin, subject to Members wishes that it was advantageous to attach Associate Members to particular Committees of the Body. This would enable them to receive committee papers and be prepared for an invitation to substitute for a full Member of the Committee, normally of their own party, as required.

The suggested placings are as follows:

Committee A ~ Political and Security

Labour C John McWilliam MP I Jeff Ennis MP N

Conscrvative IF Lord Glentoran Nick Hawkins MP Liberal Democrat Lord Alderdice SDLP Eddie McGrady MP

Committee B ~ Europe and International Affairs

LabourConservativeMargaret Moran MPRobert Jackson MPJohn Grogan MPRobert Walter MP

Committee C ~ Economic and Social

LabourConservativeJohn AustinBaroness O'Cathain

Committee D ~ Culture, Education and Environment

Labour	Conservative	Liberal Democrat
Andrew MacKinlay MP	David Tredinnick MP	The Lord Lester
Jean Corston MP		

We hope this is satisfactory, if any member wants to make representation we will help if we can.