

NORTHERN IRELAND Information Service

21 June 1991

CHAIRMANSHIP OF THE STANDING ADVISORY COMMISSION ON HUMAN RIGHTS

The Secretary of State for Northern Ireland, the Rt Hon Peter Brooke MP, has reappointed Sir Oliver Napier as Chairman of the Standing Advisory Commission on Human Rights for a further year from 1 July 1991.

BIOGRAPHICAL NOTE:

Sir Oliver Napier LLB was born in 1935 and is a graduate of the Queen's University, Belfast. He has been a solicitor since 1959. He was a founder member of the Alliance Party and its Leader from 1973 to 1984. He has been a member of the Northern Ireland Assembly and the Constitutional Convention. He had responsibility for the Office of Law Reform in the Northern Ireland Executive from January to March 1974. He has been Chairman of the Standing Advisory Commission on Human Rights since July 1988.

NOTES FOR EDITORS:

The Standing Advisory Commission on Human Rights was established under Section 20 of the Northern Ireland Constitution Act 1973. It advises the Secretary of State on adequacy and effectiveness of the law in Northern Ireland in preventing discrimination on the grounds of religious belief or political opinion, and on other human rights issues.

Other members of the Commission are Professor Tom Hadden, Sister Genevieve O'Farrell OBE, Dr David Stevens, Mrs Mary Clark-Glass CBE, Ms Joan Harbison, Mr Charles Hill QC, Mr Robert Mullan, Mr Al Mackle OBE and Mr Aidan Sherrard. Ex-officio members are Mr Bob Cooper CBE, Chairman of the Fair Employment Commission, and Ms Jill McIvor, Northern Ireland Parliamentary Commissioner for Administration and Northern Ireland Commissioner for Complaints.