# NORDIC COUNCIL

Address: Tyrgatan 7, Box 19506, 10432 Stockholm, Sweden. Telephone: (08) 14-34-20.

The Nordic Council was founded in 1952 for co-operation between the Nordic parliaments and governments. The four original mem-bers were Denmark, Iceland, Norway and Sweden; Finland joined in 1955, and the Faeroe Islands and Aland were granted representation in 1970 within the Danish and Finnish delegations respectively. Greenland had separate representation within the Danish delegation from 1984.

#### MEMBERS

Denmark (with the Faeroe Islands and Greenland)

Finland (with Aland) Iceland

Norway Sweden

## Organization

(October 1986)

#### COUNCIL

The Council convenes annually in a plenary session of about one week's duration. Following an introductory general debute, the Session considers proposals put forward by Council members, by the Council of Ministers (q.v.) or national governments. The Session also follows up the outcome of past decisions and the work of the various Nordic institutions.

The Council comprises 87 members, elected annually by and from the parliaments of the respective countries (Denmark 16 members; Faeroes 2; Greenland 2; Finland 18; Aland 2; Iceland 7; Norway 20; Sweden 20). The various parties are proportionately represented in accordance with their representation in the national

parliaments.
The Council initiates and follows up co-operative efforts among the Nordic countries. It does this by issuing recommendations and statements of position to the Council of Ministers and the respective governments. The recommendations of the Council, which express

political judgements and opinions with solid foundations in the Nordic parliaments, generally result in the taking of measures on the part of Councils of Ministers of the national governments in question.

#### STANDING COMMITTEES

Council members are assigned to six Standing Committees (Economic; Legal; Communications; Cultural; Social and Environmental; and Budget and Control Committees). The Committees prepare business to be put before the Council during the annual Session.

#### PRESIDIUM

The Presidium of the Council, in which all five countries have two parliamentary representatives, is the supreme executive body of the Council.

President (1986/1987): ANKER JURGENSEN (Denmark).

#### SECRETARIATS

Each delegation to the Nordic Council has a secretariat at its national parliament. The secretaries of the five standing committees are attached to the secretariat of the Presidium in Stockholm.

Secretary of the Presidium: LLAKA-CHRISTIAN BIOKKLUND & (Finland) (to be replaced by GERHARD AF SCHULTEN).

#### FINANCE

Budget contributions are calculated according to a formula based on the countries' respective gross national products, approximately 40% is paid by Sweden and 20% each by Denmark, Finland and Norway.

### **PUBLICATIONS**

Yearbook of Noraic Statistics (in English and Swedish). Nordiska Samarbetsorgan (list of all Nordic institutions, with their names in English).

NU-Series (reports of policy and fact-finding research committees; summaries available in English).

Nordisk Kontakt.