Search Results

26 July- 4 August, 1787: The Meeting of the Committee of Detail

Founding the Federal Union

A collection of handwritten primary source material pertaining to the deliberations of the Committee of Detail. People include John Jay, George Washington, Richard Caswell, R.D. Spaight, Alexander Martin, James Monroe, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, and James McClurg.

Cite as:

Eileen Jakeway
Details standard


Max Farrand, *The Records of the Federal Convention of 1787*, ed. Max Farrand (New Haven: Yale University Press, 1911).

William Ewald et. al., "Committee of Detail Documents," The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 135, No. 3 (July 2011), pp. 239-365.

William Ewald, "The Committee of Detail," 28 CONST. COMMENT 197 (2012), pp. 197-285.

Retained titles given by Ewald to the documents identified by Farrand as Documents I-IX in his *Records,* but did not retain the order of documents as such, for clarity. When the Historical Society of Pennsylvania digitized their manuscript copies of Wilson's papers, they chose to collate certain pages, such as parts I and II of Wilson's first draft of the Constitution, in an order incongruous with Farrand and Ewald's methodologies. Each collection item therefore features a link to the digitized primary source, with the corresponding page numbers in the explanation below.

Collection associations (4)

Committee of Detail

U.S. Constitutional Convention 1787 (2019 Edition)

Committee of Detail

U.S. Constitutional Convention 1787 (2021 Edition)

List of conventions with resources

To see where the resources are in the convention, click on the corresponding convention below

Preparing Visualisation - please wait

Locations of resources in the convention

To see highlight the related resources to the session in the convention, click on the corresponding coloured circle below or the highlighted committee.

Preparing Visualisation - please wait

Items (21/21)

Find by Title