Session list for:
United States Bill of Rights 1789

Twelve articles of amendment to the Constitution, introduced in September 1789 by Congress.

Wednesday, 04 March 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00First day of the Bill of Rights proceedings; congressmen join the chamber
The Senate 12:00:00Congressmen join the chamber

Thursday, 05 March 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00Congressmen join the chamber

Saturday, 14 March 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00Congressmen join the chamber

Tuesday, 17 March 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00Congressmen join the chamber

Wednesday, 18 March 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00Congressmen join the chamber

Thursday, 19 March 1789

Committee Time Description
The Senate 11:00:00Congressmen join the chamber

Saturday, 21 March 1789

Committee Time Description
The Senate 12:00:00Congressmen join the chamber

Monday, 23 March 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00Congressmen join the chamber

Wednesday, 25 March 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00Congressmen join the chamber

Saturday, 28 March 1789

Committee Time Description
The Senate 11:00:00Congressmen join the chamber

Monday, 30 March 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00Congressmen join the chamber

Wednesday, 01 April 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00The House elects a speaker and a clerk

Thursday, 02 April 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00Congressmen join the chamber
House: Rules Committee11:00:00Congressmen join the committee

Friday, 03 April 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives12:00:00Congressmen join the chamber

Saturday, 04 April 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives12:00:00Congressmen join the chamber

Monday, 06 April 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00Congressmen join the chamber
The Senate 11:00:00Congressmen join the chamber

Tuesday, 07 April 1789

Committee Time Description
The Senate 11:00:00The Rules Committee is appointed
Senate: Rules Committee11:00:00Congressmen join the committee
The House of Representatives12:00:00The House decides on rules
House: Rules Committee12:00:00The Rules Committee report is referred to the House
Joint: Conference Rules Committee12:00:00Congressmen join the committee

Wednesday, 08 April 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00Congressmen join the chamber
House: Committee of the Whole11:00:00Congressmen join the committee and elect a chairman
The Senate 11:00:00The Senate elects a secretary and messenger
House: Rules Committee11:00:00Additional Rules and Standing Orders are referred to the House

Thursday, 09 April 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00Congressmen join the chamber
House: Committee of the Whole11:00:00Congressmen join the committee
Joint: Conference Rules Committee11:00:00Congressmen join the committee

Monday, 13 April 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00Congressmen join the chamber
The Senate 11:00:00Congressmen join the chamber
House: Rules Committee11:00:00The recommitted clauses of the Additional Rules and Standing Orders are amended and referred to the House
House: Committee of Elections11:00:00Congressmen join the committee
Senate: Rules Committee11:00:00The Committee refers its report to the Senate

Tuesday, 14 April 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00The House considers the recommitted rules
House: Committee of the Whole11:00:00Congressmen join the committee
The Senate 11:00:00Congressmen join the chamber

Wednesday, 15 April 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00The Conference Rules Committee presents its report
The Senate 11:00:00The Senate discusses the Rules and Standing Orders
Joint: Conference Rules Committee11:00:00The Committee's report is referred to the House

Thursday, 16 April 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00The House receives a letter from the Senate, regarding conference rules and electing chaplains
The Senate 11:00:00The Senate adopts the Rules and Standing Orders

Friday, 17 April 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00Congressmen join the chamber
House: Committee of the Whole11:00:00Congressmen join the committee

Saturday, 18 April 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00The Committee of Elections presents a report
The Senate 11:00:00The Senate amends the Rules and Standing Orders
House: Committee of Elections11:00:00The Committee's report is referred to the House

Monday, 20 April 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00Congressmen join the chamber
House: Committee of the Whole11:00:00Congressmen join the committee
The Senate 11:00:00Congressmen join the chamber

Wednesday, 22 April 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00Congressmen join the chamber
House: Committee of the Whole11:00:00Congressmen join the committee

Thursday, 23 April 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00Congressmen join the chamber

Friday, 24 April 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00The House amends the Rules and Standing Orders

Saturday, 25 April 1789

Committee Time Description
The Senate 11:00:00The Senate elects a chaplain

Monday, 27 April 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00The House resolves to elect a Chaplain

Thursday, 30 April 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00Congressmen join the chamber

Friday, 01 May 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00The House elects a chaplain
House: Committee of the Whole11:00:00Congressmen join the committee

Monday, 04 May 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00The consideration of amendments is scheduled for 25 May

Tuesday, 05 May 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00Virginia presents its address to Congress

Wednesday, 06 May 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00New York presents its address to Congress

Friday, 08 May 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00The House resolves to elect a Sergeant at Arms
House: Committee of the Whole11:00:00Congressmen join the committee

Saturday, 09 May 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00Congressmen join the chamber
House: Committee of the Whole11:00:00Congressmen join the committee

Tuesday, 12 May 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00The Committee of Elections presents its report; the House elects a Sergeant at Arms

Tuesday, 19 May 1789

Committee Time Description
House: Committee of the Whole11:00:00Trumbull is appointed chairman of the Committee of the Whole

Thursday, 21 May 1789

Committee Time Description
The Senate 11:00:00Congressmen join the chamber

Monday, 25 May 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00The consideration of amendments is postponed until 8 June
House: Committee of the Whole11:00:00Congressmen join the committee

Friday, 29 May 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00The House debates a motion to amend the Rules and Standing Orders

Monday, 08 June 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00Madison proposes amendments to the Constitution; several states submit forms of ratification
The Senate 11:00:00Congressmen join the chamber

Tuesday, 09 June 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00The House amends the Rules and Standing Orders
House: Committee of the Whole11:00:00Congressmen join the committee

Monday, 15 June 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00Congressmen join the chamber

Tuesday, 16 June 1789

Committee Time Description
House: Committee of the Whole11:00:00Congressmen join the committee

Wednesday, 17 June 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00Congressmen join the chamber
House: Committee of the Whole11:00:00Congressmen join the committee

Monday, 13 July 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00The House resolves into the Committee of the Whole
House: Committee of the Whole11:00:00Boudinot becomes chairman of the Committee of the Whole

Tuesday, 21 July 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00The Committee of Eleven is created; several states submit forms of ratification
House: Committee of Eleven11:00:00State forms of ratification are delivered from the House; Congressmen join the committee

Wednesday, 22 July 1789

Committee Time Description
House: Committee of the Whole11:00:00The Committee of the Whole is discharged from the consideration of Madison's amendments

Saturday, 25 July 1789

Committee Time Description
The Senate 11:00:00Congressmen join the chamber

Monday, 27 July 1789

Committee Time Description
The Senate 11:00:00Congressmen join the chamber

Tuesday, 28 July 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00The Committee of Eleven delivers its report
House: Committee of Eleven11:00:00The Committee of Eleven report is created and sent to the House

Friday, 31 July 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00The Committee for Enrolled Bills is created
Joint: Committee for Enrolled Bills11:00:00Congressmen join the committee
The Senate 11:00:00The Senate elects members to the Committee for Enrolled Bills

Monday, 03 August 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00The Committee of Eleven report is scheduled for discussion on 12 August

Thursday, 13 August 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives10:00:00The House resolves into the Committee of the Whole to consider the Committee of Eleven report
House: Committee of the Whole11:00:00The Committee receives the Committee of Eleven report

Friday, 14 August 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00The House resolves into the Committee of the Whole to consider the Committee of Eleven report
House: Committee of the Whole11:00:00The Committee considers the Committee of Eleven report

Saturday, 15 August 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00The House resolves into the Committee of the Whole to consider the Committee of Eleven report
House: Committee of the Whole11:00:00The Committee considers the Committee of Eleven report

Monday, 17 August 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00The House resolves into the Committee of the Whole to consider the Committee of Eleven report
House: Committee of the Whole11:00:00The Committee considers the Committee of Eleven report

Tuesday, 18 August 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00The House resolves into the Committee of the Whole to consider the Committee of Eleven report
House: Committee of the Whole11:00:00The Committee of the Whole report is finished and sent to the House

Wednesday, 19 August 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00The House resumes and begins consideration of the Committee of the Whole report

Thursday, 20 August 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00The House considers the Committee of the Whole report
Joint: Committee for Enrolled Bills11:00:00Congressmen join the committee

Friday, 21 August 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00The House considers the Committee of the Whole report

Saturday, 22 August 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00Committee of Three is created
House: Committee of Three11:00:00Congressmen join the committee

Monday, 24 August 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00The Committee of Three delivers its report
House: Committee of Three11:00:00The Committee sends redrafted amendments to the House

Tuesday, 25 August 1789

Committee Time Description
The Senate 11:00:00The Senate receives amendments from the House

Thursday, 27 August 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00Congressmen join the Committee of Enrolled Bills
Joint: Committee for Enrolled Bills11:00:00Congressmen join the committee

Wednesday, 02 September 1789

Committee Time Description
The Senate 11:00:00The Senate considers the House amendments

Thursday, 03 September 1789

Committee Time Description
The Senate 11:00:00The Senate considers the House amendments

Friday, 04 September 1789

Committee Time Description
The Senate 11:00:00The Senate considers the House amendments

Monday, 07 September 1789

Committee Time Description
The Senate 11:00:00The Senate considers the House amendments

Tuesday, 08 September 1789

Committee Time Description
The Senate 11:00:00The Senate considers the House amendments

Wednesday, 09 September 1789

Committee Time Description
The Senate 11:00:00The Senate considers the House amendments

Thursday, 10 September 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00The House receives the Senate's report on amendments to the Constitution

Monday, 14 September 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives11:00:00The amendments are sent to be printed for the use of the members

Saturday, 19 September 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives10:00:00The consideration of Senate amendments is postponed

Monday, 21 September 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives10:00:00A Conference Committee is created to discuss the Senate amendments rejected by the House
Joint: Conference Committee10:00:00Congressmen join the committee, committee report is released
The Senate 11:00:00The Conference Committee is appointed

Wednesday, 23 September 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives10:00:00The Conference Committee delivers its report

Thursday, 24 September 1789

Committee Time Description
The Senate 11:00:00The Senate receives the Conference Committee report
The House of Representatives13:00:00The House agrees to Senate amendments with a few minor changes and agrees to send copies of agreed amendments to the states

Friday, 25 September 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives10:00:00Senate notifies House of agreement to Amendments
The Senate 11:00:00The Senate receives amendments back from the House, following the Conference Committee report

Saturday, 26 September 1789

Committee Time Description
The Senate 10:00:00The Senate agrees that copies of the amendments should be sent to the executives of the states

Monday, 28 September 1789

Committee Time Description
The House of Representatives10:00:00The Committee of Enrolled Bills reports that the amendments were found to be truly enrolled
Joint: Committee for Enrolled Bills10:00:00The amendments are enrolled