United States Nineteenth Amendment and Edmunds Tucker Act [Early Access - Work in Progress]

The Nineteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution secured the right to vote to women.

United States Senate

The Committee Secretary's View The Committee Secretary's View

To see the full record of a committee, click on the corresponding committee on the map below.

Document introduced in:

Session 6331: 1885-12-18 00:00:00

Appointment of committees of the Senate

Document View:

Standing Committees of the Senate

There are 0 proposed amendments related to this document on which decisions have not been taken.


On AgricuLture and Forestry-Messrs. Miller of New York (chairman), Blair, Plumb, Van Wyck, Sawyer, George, Fair, Gibson, and Jones of Arkansas.

On Appropriations-Messrs. Allison (chairman), Dawes, Plumb, Hale, Mahone, Beck, Cockrell, Call, Gorman, and Logan.

To Audit and Control the Contingent .Expenses of the Senate-Messrs. Jones of Nevada (chairman), Chace, and Vance.

On Civil Service and Retrenchment-Messrs. Hawley (chairman), Dawes, Mitchell ofPennsylvania, Miller of California, Pike, Voorhees, Walthall, Wilson of Maryland, and Berry.

On Claims-Messrs. Pike (chairman), Hoar, Dolph, Spooner, Jackson, Fair, Jones of Arkansas, Gray, and Mitchell of Oregon.

On Coast Defenses-Messrs. Dolph {chairman), Cameron, Sewell, Hawley, Maxey, McPherson, and Fair.

On Cornmerce-Messrs. McMillan (chairman), Jones of Nevada, Conger, Frye, Miller of New York, Dolph, Cameron, Ransom, Coke, Vest, Gorman, Jones of Florida, and Kenna.

On the District of Columbia-Messrs. Ingalls (chairman), Riddleberger, Pike, Palmer, Miller of California, Harris, Vance, Brown, and Blackburn.

On Education and Labor-Messrs. Blair (chairman), Mahone, Miller of New York, Bowen, Palmer, Call, Pugh, Payne, and Walthall.

On Engrossed Bills-Messrs. Saulsbury {chairman}, Call, and Allison.

On Enrolled Bills-Messrs. Bowen (chairman), and Colquitt.

On Epidemic Diseases-Messrs. Harris (chairman), Hampton, Eustis, Sewell, Spooner, Stanford, and Berry.

To Examine the Several Branches of the Civil Service-Messrs. Sabin {chairman), Cullom, Allison, Hampton, and Gray.

On Expenditures of Public Money-Messrs. Cullom (chairman), Harrison, Plumb, Platt, Beck, Kenna, and Gibson.

On Finance-Messrs. Morrill (chairman), Sherman, Jones of Nevada, Allison, Aldrich, Miller of New York, Voorhees, Beck, McPherson, Harris, and Vance.

On Fisheries-Messrs. Palmer (chairman), Sewell, Dawes, Stanford, Morgan, Harris, and Gray.

On Foreign Relations-Messrs. Miller of California (chairman), Sherman, Edmunds, Frye, Evarts, Morgan, Brown, Saulsbury, and Payne.

On the Improvement of the Mississippi River-Messrs. Van Wyck (chairman), Mitchell of Pennsylvana, Cullom, Pike, Cockrell, George. and Eustis.

On IndianAffairs-Messrs . Dawes (chairman), Ingalls, Harrison, Bowen, Sabin, Maxey, Morgan, Hampton, and Jones of Arkansas.

On the Judidary-Messrs. Edmunds (chairman), Ingalls, McMillan, Hoar, Wilson of Iowa, Evarts, Pugh, Coke, Vest, and Jackson.

On the Library-Messrs. Sewell (chairman), Hoar, and Voorhees.

On Manufactures-Messrs. Riddleberger (chairman), Sabin, Mitehell of Pennsylvania, Stanford, Colquitt, Butler, and Walthall.

On Military Affairs-Messr. Logan (chairman), Sewell, Cameron, Harrison, Hawley, Manderson, Cockrell, Hampton, Camden, and Walthall.

On Mines and Mining-Messrs. Teller {chairman), Jones of Nevada, Van Wyck, Hampton, Fair, Camden, and Mitchell of Oregon.

On Naval Affairs-Messrs. Cameron (chairman), Hale, Dawes, Riddleberger, Stanford, McPherson, Jones of Florida, Butler, and Blackburn.

On Patents-Messrs. Platt (chairman), Mitchell of Pennsylvania, Chace, Teller, Camden, Jones of Arkansas, and Gray.

On Pensions-Messrs. Mitchell of Pennsylvania (chairman), Blair, Van Wyck, Aldrich, Sewell, Jackson, Camden, Colquitt, and Payne.

On Post-Offices and Post-Roads-Messrs. Conover (chairman), Sawyer, Wilson, of Iowa, Mahone, Chace, Maxey, Saulsbury, Colquitt, and Wilson of Maryland.

On Printing-Messrs. Manderson (chairman), Hawley, and Gorman.

On Private Land Claims-Messrs. Ransom (chairman), Colquitt, Eustis, Edmunds, and Evarts.

On Privileges and Elections-Messrs. Hoar (chairman), Frye, Teller, Evarts, Saulsbury, Vance, Pugh, George, and Logan.

On Public Buildings and Grounds-Messrs. Mahone (chairman), Morrill, Stanford, Spooner, Jones of Florida, Vest, and Camden.

On Public Lands-Messrs. Plumb (chairman), Blair, Van Wyck, Dolph, Teller, Morgan, Cockrell, Walthall, and Berry.

On Railroads-Messrs. Sawyer {chairman), Hawley, Sewell, Sabin, Cullom, Brown, Kenna, George Blackburn, Eustis, and Mitchell of Oregon.

On the Revision of the Laws of the United States-Messrs. Wilson of Iowa (chairman), Platt, Hale, Kenna, and Wilson of Maryland.

On Revolutionary Claims-Messrs. Jones of Florida (chairman), Coke, Pugh, McMillan, and Chace.

On Rules-Messrs. Frye (chairman), Sherman, Ingalls, Harris, and Blackburn.

On Territories-Messrs. Harrison) chairman), Platt, Conger, Cullom, Manderson, Butler, Jones of Florida, George, and Payne.

On Transportation. Routes to the Seaboard-Messrs. Aldrich (chairman), Manderson, Palmer, Cullom, Gibson, Vest, Call, Butler, and Mitchell of Oregon.

Decisions yet to be taken