United States Nineteenth Amendment and Edmunds Tucker Act [Early Access - Work in Progress]

The Nineteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution secured the right to vote to women.

United States Senate

The Committee Secretary's View The Committee Secretary's View

To see the full record of a committee, click on the corresponding committee on the map below.

Document introduced in:

Session 5734: 1881-12-16 00:00:00

Senators entering the chamber, debate on the creation of the Select Committee on Woman Suffrage

Document View:

Standing Committees

There are 0 proposed amendments related to this document on which decisions have not been taken.


On Privileges and Elections-Messrs. Hoar, (chairman,) Cameron of Wisconsin, Sherman, Frye, Lapham, Saulsbury, Hill of Georgia, Vance, and Pugh.

On Foreign Relations-Messrs. Windom, (chairman,) Edmunds, Miller of California, Ferry, Lapham, Johnston, Morgan, Hill of Georgia, and Pendleton.

On Finance-Messrs. Morrill, (chairman,) Sherman, Ferry, Jones of Nevada, Allison, Aldrich, Bayard, Voorhees, Beck, McPherson, and Harris.

On Appropriations-Messrs. Allison, (chairman,) Logan, Dawes, Plumb, Hale, Davis of West Virginia, Beck, Ransom, and Cockrell.

On Commerce-Messrs. McMillan, (chairman,) Jones of Nevada, Kellogg, Conger, Miller of New York, Ransom, Coke, Farley, and Vest.

On Manufactures-Messrs. Conger, (chairman,) Hale, Sewell, McPherson, and Williams.

On Agriculture-Messrs. Mahone, (chairman,) Blair, Plumb, Van Wyck, Davis of West Virginia, Slater, and George.

On Military Affairs-Messrs. Logan, (chairman,) Cameron of Pennsylvania, Harrison, Sewell, Hawley, Cockrell, Maxey, Grover, and Hampton.

On Naval Affairs-Messrs. Cameron of Pennsylvania, (chairman,) Anthony, Rollins, Miller of California, Mahone, McPherson, Jones of Florida, Vance, and Farley.

On the Judiciary-Messrs. Edmunds, (chairman,) Logan, Ingalls, McMillan, Teller, Garland, Davis of Illinois, Bayard, and Lamar.

On Post Offices and Post Roads-Messrs. Ferry, (chairman,) Hill of Colorado, Sawyer, Mahone, Miller of New York, Maxey, Saulsbury, Farley, and Groome.

On Public Lands-Messrs. Plumb, (chairman,) Hill of Colorado, Blair, Van Wyck, McDill, Jones of Florida, Grover, Walker, and Morgan.

On Private Land Claims-Messrs. Bayard, (chairman,) Jonas, Call, Edmunds, and Allison.

On Indian Affairs-Messrs. Dawes, (chairman,) Ingalls, Saunders, Harrison, Cameron of Wisconsin, Coke, Pendleton, Walker, and Slater.

On Pensions-Messrs. Teller, (chairman,) Platt, Blair, Mitchell, Van Wyck, Groome, Slater, Jackson, and Camden.

On Revolutionary Claims-Messrs. Johnston, (chairman,) Jones of Florida, Hill of Georgia, Anthony, and Dawes.

On Claims-Messrs. Cameron of Wisconsin, (chairman,) Frye, Teller, Hoar, Conger, Pugh, Jackson, George, and Fair.

On the District of Columbia-Messrs. Ingalls, (chairman,) Rollins, McMillan, Aldrich, McDill, Harris, Butler, Vance, and Gorman.

On Patents-Messrs. Platt, (chairman,) Hoar, Mitchell, Windom, Coke, Call, and Williams.

On Territories-Messrs. Saunders, (chairman,) Kellogg, McDill, Harrison, Butler, Garland, and Vest.

On Railroads-Messrs. Kellogg, (chairman,) Teller, Saunders, Hawley, Sawyer, Sewell, Lamar, Grover, Williams, Jonas, and Brown.

On Mines and Mining-Messrs. Hill of Colorado, (chairman,) Jones of Nevada, Van Wyck, Miller of California, Hampton, Fair, and Camden.

On the Revision of the Laws-Messrs. Miller of California, (chairman,) Platt, Hale, Davis of Illinois, and Pendleton.

On Education and Labor-Messrs. Blair, (chairman,) Morrill, Windom, Mahone, Aldrich, Maxey, Brown, George, and Fair.

On Civil Service and Retrenchment-Messrs. Hawley, (chairman,) Rollins, Jones of Nevada, Dawes, Butler, Walker, and Williams.

To Audit and Control the Contingent Expenses of the Senate-Messrs. Jones of Nevada, (chairman,) Platt, and Vance.

On Engrossed Bills-Messrs. Saulsbury, (chairman,) Call, and Miller of New. York.

On Rules-Messrs. Frye, (chairman,) Hoar, Sherman, Call, and Gorman.

On the Improvement of the Mississippi River and its Tributaries-Messrs. Mitchell, (chairman,) Kellogg, Van Wyck, Frye, Jonas, Cockrell, and Jackson.

On Transportation Routes to the Seaboard-Messrs. Harrison, (chairman,) Cameron of Pennsylvania, Windom, Lapham, Beck, Voorhees, and Camden.

Decisions yet to be taken