United States Nineteenth Amendment and Edmunds Tucker Act [Early Access - Work in Progress]

The Nineteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution secured the right to vote to women.

United States Senate

The Committee Secretary's View The Committee Secretary's View

To see the full record of a committee, click on the corresponding committee on the map below.

Document introduced in:

Session 5131: 1877-12-06 00:00:00

Appointment of standing committees of the second session of the Forty-fifth Congress

Document View:

Standing Committees

There are 0 proposed amendments related to this document on which decisions have not been taken.

Resolved, That the following be the standing committees of the Senate of the United States for the second session of the Forty-fifth Congress:

On Privileges and Elections-Messrs. Wadleigh, (chairman,) Mitchell, Cameron of Wisconsin, McMillan, Hoar, Ingalls, Saulsbury, Merrimon, and Hill.

On Foreign Relations-Messrs. Hamlin, (chairman,) Howe, Conkling, Matthews, Kirkwood, McCreery, Eaton, Johnston, and Wallace.

On Finance-Messrs. Morrill, (chairman,) Dawes, Ferry, Jones of Nevada, Allison, Bayard, Kernan, Wallace, and Voorhees.

On Appropriations-Messrs. Windom, (chairman,) Sargent, Allison, Dorsey, Blaine, Dans of West Virginia, Withers, Eaton, and Beck.

On Commerce-Messrs. Conkling. (chairman,) Spencer, McMillan, Patterson, Jones of Nevada., Gordon, Dennis, Ransom, and Randolph.

On Manufactures-Messrs. Rollins, (chairman,) Burnside, Cameron of Pennsylvania, Johnston, and McPherson.

On Agriculture-Messrs. Paddock, (chairman,) Sharon, Hoar, Davis of West Virginia, and Gordon.

OnMilitary Affairs-Messrs. Spencer, (chairman,) Burnside, Wadleigh, Plumb, Cameron of Pennsylvania, Randolph, Cockrell, Maxey, and Butler.

On Naval Affairs-Messrs. Sargent, (chairman,) .Anthony, Conover, Blaine, Whyte, McPherson, and Jones of Florida. On the Judiciary-Messrs. Edmunds, (chairman,) Conkling, Howe, Christiancy, Davis of lllinois, Thurman; and McDonald.

On Post Offices and Post-Roads-Messrs. Ferry, (chairman,) Hamlin, Paddock, Conover, Kirkwood, Burnside, Saulsbury, Maxey, and Bailey.

On Public Lands-Messrs. Oglesby, (chairman,) Paddock, Booth, Chaffee, Plumb, McDonald, Jones of Florida., Grover, and Garland.

On Private Land Claims-Messrs. Thurman, (chairman,) Bayard, Edmunds, Christiancy, and Grover.

On Indian Affairs-Messrs. Allison, (chairman,) Oglesby, Ingalls, Sanders, McCreery, Coke, and McDonald.

On Pensions-Messrs. Ingalls, (chairman,) Bruce, Kirkwood, Kellogg, Withers, Bailey, and Voorhees.

On Revolutionary Claims-Messrs. Johnston, (chairman,) Jones of Florida, Hill, Dawes, and McMillan.

On Claims-Messrs. McMillan, (chairman,) Mitchell, Cameron of Wisconsin, Teller, Hoar, Cockrell, Hereford, Harris, and,.Morgan.

On the District of Columbia-Messrs. Dorsey, (cii.airman,) Spencer, Ingalls, Rollins, Merrimon, Barnum, and Harris.

On Patents-Messrs. Booth, (chairman,) Wadleigh, Hoar, Kernan, and Morgan.

On Public Buildings and Grounds-Messrs. Dawes, (chairman,) Morrill, Cameron of Pennsylvania, Saulsbury, and Jones of Florida.

On Territories-Messrs. Patterson, (chairman,) Chaffee, Sanders, Kellogg, Garland, Grover, and Hereford.

On Railroads-Messrs. Mitchell, (chairman,) Dawes, Dorsey, Teller, Sanders, Windom, Matthews, Ransom, Barnum, Lamar, and Armstrong.

On Mines and Mining-Messrs. Sharon, (chairman,) Chaffee, Booth, Plumb, Hereford, Coke, and Hill

On the Revision of the Laws-Messrs. Christiancy, (chairman,) Matthews, Davis of Illinois, Wallace, and Kernan.

On Education and Labor-Messrs. Burnside, (chairman,) Patterson, Morrill, Bruce, Sharon, Gordon, Maxey, Bailey, and Lamar.

On Civil Service and Retrenchment-Messrs. Teller, (chairman,) Oglesby, Patterson, Booth, McCreery, Whyte, and Beck.

To Audit and Control the Contingent Expenses of the Senate-Messrs. Jones of Nevada, (chairman,) Rollins, and Dennis.

On Printing-Messrs. Anthony, (chairman,) Sargent, and Whyte.

On the Library-Messrs. Howe, (chairman,) Edmunds, and Ransom.

On Rules-Messrs. Blaine, (chairman,) Ferry, and Merrimon.

On Engrossed Bills-Messrs. Bayard, (chairman,) Withers, and Anthony.

On Enrolled Bills-Messrs. Conover, (chairman,) Paddock, and Armstrong.

Decisions yet to be taken